• Böhm
• Brčić
Heinemann ⏩
• Höfler
• Kargl
• Kwapiszewska
• Leithner
• Marsche
• Marsh
• Moissl-Eichinger
• Olschewski A
• Olschewski H
• Strobl
• Tomazic

Young Faculty




PhD Program
Congress (Retreat)


• Webmaster

The RESPImmun Faculty


Short chain fatty acids and pulmonary endothelial function

Otto Loewi Research Centre, Division of Pharmacology, Medical University of Graz, Neue Stiftingtalstraße 6, A-8010 Graz;
phone: +43-316-385 74112, fax: +43-316-385 79613,  e-mail
websites: [RESPImmun] [DK-MOLIN] [MOLMED]
• Profile     • Curriculum vitae ⏬     • PhD students     • Grants     • Publications    
ORCID-ID: 0000-0002-8554-2372
Research areas:
  Prostaglandins, cytokines, short chain fatty acids, leukocytes, endothelial cells, inflammation, platelets, asthma, acute lung injury, lung fibrosis
Career history:
2009–present Full Professor of Pharmacology, Chair, Division of Pharmacology, Medical University of Graz, Austria
2000–2009 Associate Professor, Institute of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, University of Graz, Austria
2003 Board certification in Pharmacology and Toxicology
2000 Habilitation in Pharmacology, Medical University of Graz, Austria
1998–1999 Visiting scientist at Imperial College School of Medicine, Biomedical Sciences Division, Leukocyte Section (Head: Professor T.J. Williams), South Kensington Campus, London, UK
1995–1998 Research Fellow and Assistant Professor, Institute of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, Medical University of Graz
1993–1995 Postdoctoral Fellow at the Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine, Medical University of Graz
1991–1993 Internship in Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine, Medical University of Graz;
Internship in Surgery at Unfallkrankenhaus Kalwang;
Internship in Dermatology & Allergy, Department of Dermatology, Medical University of Graz
1984–1991 Study of Medicine, MD, Karl-Franzens University of Graz, Austria
Career-related activities (5 most important):
2014–present Board member of the Austrian Science Fund FWF
2010–present Speaker of the FWF-funded “Doctoral College Molecular Inflammation – MOLIN” at the Med Uni Graz
2006–present Advisory board member for AstraZeneca, Amgen and Bayer
2006–present Coordinator of the “PhD Program Molecular Medicine” at the Med Uni Graz
2004–present Board member of the Ethics Committee of the Medical University of Graz (Med Uni Graz)

Invited referee for > 40 scientific journals and > 10 funding organizations
Major honours and awards (5 most important):
2012 Neuroallianz Publication Award, UCB Pharma, Monheim, Germany
2000 Research Prize of the Aventis Foundation, Graz, Austria
1998 Erwin Schrödinger Fellowship, FWF, Austria
1997 Research Prize of the Hoechst Foundation, Graz, Austria
1996 Research Award of the Theodor Körner Foundation, Austria

Numerous awards to PhD students and postdocs in the group
International collaboration partners (5 most important):

Ian Sabroe, University of Sheffield, UK

Evi Kostenis, University of Bonn, Germany

Gerd Geisslinger, Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany

Thomas Vorup-Jensen, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Christopher Gregory, University of Edinburgh, UK