• Böhm
• Brčić
• Heinemann
• Höfler
Kargl ⏩
• Kwapiszewska
• Leithner
• Marsche
• Marsh
• Moissl-Eichinger
• Olschewski A
• Olschewski H
• Strobl
• Tomazic

Young Faculty




PhD Program
Congress (Retreat)


• Webmaster

The RESPImmun Faculty

Julia KARGL, PhD

The role of neutrophil-derived myeloperoxidase in non-small-cell lung cancer metastasis

Otto Loewi Research Centre, Division of Pharmacology, Medical University of Graz, Neue Stiftingtalstraße 6, A-8010 Graz;
phone: +43-316-385 74105, fax: +43-316-385 79613,  e-mail
websites: [RESPImmun]
• Profile     • Curriculum vitae ⏬     • PhD students     • Grants     • Publications    
ORCID-ID: 0000-0002-0870-0816
Research areas:
  Tumor immunology, inflammation, neutrophils, cancer research, GPCR signaling
Career history:
2019–present Assistant Faculty member of the PhD Programs DK-MOLIN and Doc-Fund DP-iDP, MUG, Austria
2017–present Faculty member of the PhD Program Molecular Medicine, MUG, Austria
2017–present Group leader (Univ.-Ass.) at the Otto Loewi Resaerch Center, Division of Pharmacology, MedUniGraz, Austria
2013–2016 Postdoctoral fellow, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, USA (PI: A.M. Houghton)
2012 Postdoctoral fellow, MUG, Austria (PI: R. Schicho)
2010–2011 Visiting scientist, University of California, San Francisco, USA, (PI: J. Whistler)
2008–2012 PhD, PhD Program Molecular Medicine, MUG, Austria (PI: M. Waldhoer)
2007&nadsh;2008 MSc, University of Graz, Austria (Studies of Molecular Microbiology, Graduation with Distinction)
2007 Exchange Student, Agnes Scott College, Atlanta, Department of Biology, USA, (PI: T. Finco)
2003–2007 BSc, Studies of Molecular Biology, University of Graz, Austria
Career-related activities:
2019–present Organizing Team ‘Growing Up in Science Graz’, BioTechMed, Austria
2018–2019 Chair/Co-Chair of the ‘DocDay 2019’, Medical University of Graz (Med Uni Graz), Austria
2018–present Member of the Research Committee at the Med Uni Graz (FFK)
2013–present Reviewer for scientific journals (Pharmacology, JOVE – Journal of Visualized Experiments, Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology, Mediators and Inflammation)
Major honours and awards (5 most important):
2019 Heribert-Konzett Award (Austrian Pharmacology Society)
2014 Research Award of the Austrian Pain Society (preclinical)
2013 Hans Horst Meyer Award (Austrian Pharmacology Society)
2012 Austrian Life Science Award 2012 (Best PhD Thesis)
2010 EMBO Short Term Fellowship: 3 months research stay at UCSF
International collaboration partners (5 most important):

A. McGarry Houghton, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, USA

Minna Roh-Johnson, University of Utah, USA

Josh Veatch, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, USA

Steffen Hennig, HS Diagnomics, Berlin, Germany

Christian Schmees, NMI   University of Tübingen, Germany