• Böhm
• Brčić
• Heinemann
• Höfler
• Kargl
• Kwapiszewska
• Leithner
• Marsche
• Marsh
Moissl-Eichinger ⏩
• Olschewski A
• Olschewski H
• Strobl
• Tomazic

Young Faculty




PhD Program
Congress (Retreat)


• Webmaster

The RESPImmun Faculty


The role of the microbiome in chronic rhinosinusitis and sinubronchial syndrome

Department of Internal Medicine, Medical University of Graz, Auenbruggerplatz 15, A-8036 Graz; phone: +43-316-385 72808, fax: +43-316-385 13062,  e-mail
websites: [RESPImmun] [MUG]
• Profile     • Curriculum vitae ⏬     • PhD students     • Grants     • Publications    
ORCID-ID: 0000-0001-6755-6263
Research areas:
  Microbiome, human microbiome, human archaeome, hospital / indoor microbiome
Career history:
2014–present Professor for Interactive Microbiome Research at the Medical University Graz
2007–2014 Scientist and project leader at the Institute for Microbiology and Archaea Center (University of Regensburg, Germany), interrupted by two maternity leaves. Habilitation: 2014
2005–2006 PostDoc at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) / California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, CA, USA, Planetary Protection and Biotechnology Group. Supervisor: Kasthuri Venkateswaran
2004–2006 PostDoc at the University Hospital Regensburg, Innere Medizin I, rheumatology. Supervisor: Jörg Schedel
2000–2004 PhD at the Institute for Microbiology and Archaea Center, University of Regensburg. Supervisor: Robert Huber
Career-related activities (5 most important):
2015–present Organizer of the Theodor Escherich Symposium for Medical Microbiome Research (yearly)
2015–present Member of the “Forschungsförderungskomission” (–2018), Member of the “Strategiegruppe Internationalisierung” (–2017), Member of the “Personalentwicklungsbeirat”, Member of the “Committee for good scientific practice”, Medical University Graz
2016–present Project monitor and reviewer for the European Commission, Belgium
2016–2018 Speaker of the BioTechMed Young Investigator Program, Organizer of the BioTechMed Science Breakfast
2016–present Expert panel member, AMICI (Autrian Microbiome Initiative)
Invited referee for > 25 scientific journals and > 5 funding organizations
Major honours and awards (5 most important):
2018 Elected member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts 2017; 2nd Frontiers Spotlight Award
2017 2nd Frontiers Spotlight Award
2014 ESF Award for the discovery of a Top 10 New Species
2008 NASA Certificate of Recognition for the creative development of technical innovation
2006 PhD Award by the Biology Department, University of Regensburg
Numerous awards (poster and talk awards) to PhD students and postdocs in the group
International collaboration partners (5 most important):

Gabriele Berg, TU Graz

Hoi-Ying Holman, LBNL Berkeley, USA

Thomas Rattei / Christa Schleper / Michael Wagner, University of Vienna

Petra Rettberg, DLR, Cologne, Germany

Charles Cockell, University of Edinburgh, UK